Ward 1 Hamilton City Councillor Maureen Wilson during a January 2019 meeting. Credit: Joey Coleman / The Public Record

Ward 14 Councillor Terry Whitehead is no longer the Chair of Hamilton City Council’s Governance Committee.

The Committee meet for the first time this year on Thursday and, as per the procedural practices of Council, conducted their annual vote for Chair.

Ward 1 Councillor Maureen Wilson was acclaimed as Chair. Wilson was Vice-Chair during the previous year.

Ward 13 Councillor Arlene Vanderbeek is the new Vice-Chair.

Whitehead was not present for the meeting.

The Governance Committee, which at one time was known as the Accountability and Transparency Committee, oversees Council’s procedures, Code of Conduct, and the Integrity Commissioners.

During the past decade, councillors Whitehead and Lloyd Ferguson have dominated the Chair role.